University of Chester

The University of Chester is a public university located in the historic city of Chester, England

The University of Chester is a public university located in the historic city of Chester, England. The University, the first purpose-built teacher training college in the UK, based in five campus sites in and around Chester and one in Warrington, offers a range of foundation, undergraduate and postgraduate courses, as well as undertaking academic research.

The university was founded as Chester Diocesan Training College in 1839 by a distinguished group of local leading figures in the Church of England, including future Prime Ministers William Ewart Gladstone and the 14th Earl of Derby. It was the UK’s first purpose-built teacher training college, which makes it one of the longest established higher education institutions in the country. In 1842, Gladstone opened the college’s original buildings for its first intake of ten male student teachers on the Parkgate Road site, just outside the City Walls, that the university occupies today.
Arts and Media
Business and Management
Education and Children’s Services
Health and Social Care
Medicine, Dentistry and Life Sciences
Science and Engineering
Social Science

Student facilities:

Student Welfare Money Matters: Help and advice on financial issues for students

Child Care: Facilities for staff and students with children

Disability Support: Confidential information, advice and guidance

Proctor’s Office: Keeping the campuses safe

Student Counselling: Time and space for our students

Student Ambassador Scheme: Help with a range of events

Volunteering and Mentoring: Fantastic opportunities to get involved in your community

Student Occupational Health Unit: Medical care during your time at university

Student Welfare: Helping to deal with students’ problems

Study Skills: Help with a range of study skills