Eastern Mediterranean University (EMU)

is an international university with a population of about 13000 students from 65 different countries

The Eastern Mediterranean University located in Northern Cyprus, was established in 1979 as a higher-education institution of technology for Turkish Cypriots.

1979 – The Institute of Higher Technology constituting the foundation of EMU is established.

1979 – The Institute of Higher Technology starts providing education with the Departments of Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering offering 3-year programs to 105 students with the aim of educating an intermediate workforce between an engineer and a technician and issuing a ‘technician-engineer’ diploma to successful students.

1984 – Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering Departments are extended to four-year programs.

1985 – Governments of Turkish Republic (TR) and Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC) mutually agree on opening a university called ‘EMU’. Members of the T.R. Council of Higher Education visit the Institute of Higher Technology with the aim of transforming it into a university.

1986 – Following the TRNC Assembly’s approval of the Statute establishing the North Cyprus Education Foundation and EMU (18/86), the Institute of Higher Technology is converted into a state University assuming the name of EMU.

1986 – Faculties of Engineering, Arts and Sciences, Business and Economics and School of Computing and Technology are inaugurated.

1990 – Faculty of Architecture and School of Tourism and Hospitality Management are established.

1996 – Faculty of Law starts offering education.

1997 – Faculty of Communication is inaugurated.

1999 – Faculty of Education is established.

2005 – EMU obtains full membership of European University Association (EUA) and International University Association (IUA).

2007 – School of Business and Finance (School of Applied Disciplines) starts offering education.

2010 – Faculty of Health Sciences and School of Justice are inaugurated.

2011 – Faculty of Pharmacy is established.

2012 – Faculty of Medicine starts offering education.

2012 – School of Health Services starts offering education.

2012 – Faculty of Tourism starts offering education

  • Architecture
  • Arts & Sciences
  • Business & Economics
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Health Sciences
  • Law
  • Medicine
  • Pharmacy
  • Tourism


The university’s library is one of the largest on the island, collection reached more than 120,000 books, and offers free access to hundreds of information databases and sources to the users.

The library also provides inter-library loan system thus making it easy for research activities. Collections on Physical Sciences considerably sufficient for undergraduates and beginning post-graduates.

The strong areas of material, library owns, can be counted as follows: Considerable collection on Applied Mathematics and Computer Science, English Literature, basic related Engineering literature and small amount of Theoretical Physics. Engineering sections divided into specialized areas of relevant existing departments in the university. Sections on international relations, communication studies, philosophy and law are expanding rapidly compare to initial established materials.


Tennis courts, basketball courts and astro-turf football pitches are all in daily use. Outdoor athletics stadium further provides a full-sized tartan running track, whilst the Lala Mustafa Pasha indoor sports centre with its 3,500 person capacity, serves as the venue for major sporting and cultural events such as (basketball, volleyball, handball, boxing, wrestling, karate etc.), a small stadium (which is the home of American Football EMUCROWS), tennis fields. The students can join these activities and train with professional instructors. The university gives scholarships to successful athletes.

Social activities

University owns a radio station on 106.5 FM called Radio EMU broadcasting to whole island. It is run by students of the Communications department.