Swansea University

Swansea University is a public research university located in Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom

In 2016, Swansea University was named as the best university in Wales by The Times and The Sunday Times Good University Guide 2017 League Table.

Swansea University was established in 1920, opening its doors on 5 October. At the time, it was the youngest of the four colleges of the University of Wales. It was established on the recommendations of a Royal Commission set up in 1916. The college was founded on what were perceived as the needs and the wants of the local area, and Swansea’s main industries in particular.

Swansea University’s foundation stone was laid in 1920 by King George V in July 1920, welcoming 89 students, of whom eight were female. Subjects taught from the beginning of the College were the Sciences, Mathematics, Metallurgy and Engineering. The professors were A.R. Richardson (Mathematics), E.J. Evans (Physics), J.E. Coates (Chemistry), A.E. Trueman (Geology), C.A. Edwards (Metallurgy) and F. Bacon (Engineering).


College of Arts and Humanities
School of Management
Hillary Rodham Clinton School of Law
College of Engineering
College of Human and Health Science
Medical School
College of Science


  • Sports
  • Xtreme Radio
  • Student accommodation