University of Wales Trinity Saint David

The University of Wales Trinity Saint David is a multi-campus university with three main campuses in South West Wales, in Carmarthen, Lampeter and Swansea, a fourth campus in London, England, and learning centres in Cardiff, Wales, and Birmingham, England.

The University of Wales Trinity Saint David was formed in July 2010 by the merger of the University of Wales, Lampeter and Trinity University College, via a supplementary charter to Lampeter’s 1828 royal charter

In 2008, a QAA report on Lampeter concluded that, although the quality of the university’s degrees was satisfactory, they had “limited confidence” in the institution’s quality assurance procedures and systems. Further to this assessment, HEFCW commissioned a further report which found “very real problems of leadership and management” at the university. As a direct result, in December 2008, Lampeter announced that it was in merger talks with Trinity with the intention of forming a new university. This was formally announced in April 2009, when the institution’s new name, University of Wales, Trinity Saint David, was revealed. The university received its first students in September 2010. The name of the institution is a combination of Lampeter’s original name (Saint David’s College) and the name of Trinity University College.


Faculty of Architecture, Computing and Engineering
Swansea College of Art
Faculty of Business and Management
Faculty of Humanities and Performing Arts
Yr Athrofa: Institute of Education

Student life:
Students’ union
Halls of residence