GESCO Study Abroad

The University of Leeds is a public research university in Leeds, West Yorkshire, England. It was established in 1874 as the Yorkshire College of Science. In 1884 it merged with the Leeds School of Medicine (established 1831) and was renamed Yorkshire College. It became part of the federal Victoria University in 1887, joining Owens College (which became the University of Manchester) and University College Liverpool (which became the University of Liverpool). In 1904 a royal charter was granted to the University of Leeds by King Edward VII.


  • Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Cultures.
  • Faculty of Biological Sciences.
  • Faculty of Business.
  • Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences.
  • Faculty of Environment.
  • Faculty of Medicine and Health.
  • Faculty of Social Sciences.
  • Interdisciplinary research.
  • Lifelong Learning Centre.